Home > posts in English, second life > Gift boxes without gifts!

Gift boxes without gifts!


 

The day of my first teaching experience in Second life arrived and it has been a very enlightening experience.

I worked a lot in the previous months to improve my skills and learn as much as I could so I spent much time having classes, visiting blogs, joining communities and socializing with teachers around the world and finally when I had to decide what topic to present in the workshop with my MUVEnation project partners I opted for something I was not so expert of: building a scripted object, that is a gift box.

It has been definitely a risky choice for me but I wanted to observe myself and check how I could manage a group of participants in a teaching area  which I don’t have a perfect command of, I believe this is one of the best way to get useful feedback if you want to improve your skills.

It was hard! Even though I had carefully prepared all the materials and the instructions (and the way to make them available to others) many things didn’t go as they should:

  • we spent too much time for the box and there was no chance to build the bow
  • the script I had prepared (and checked thousand of times!), when dragged and dropped onto participants, couldn’t be modified by them and revealed useless
  • due to the script error we couldn’t share our gifts, at least not all of them!

On the other hand, it was so nice to experience a real collaborative atmosphere: everybody tried to help colleagues in the most difficult steps of the workshop such as linking prims and adding the script: it has been a little confusing but lovely!

 

More detailed observations and reflections about my future teaching events are the following:

  • it is necessary to previously test the activity with a pilot group
  • when the group is differently skilled it could help to have the support of a tutor who can follow participants who need help so that the other participants can focus on their activities without stopping
  • it is necessary to reflect on the opportunity for the instructor to use voice along with text chat and find a good balance between the two
  • could it be useful to organize a “warming up” meeting before the workshop? Instructor could better explain how the event will take place and which prerequisites are needed.

 

To conclude I would like to thank all the participants for their collaboration and a special thanks to Shirley for the script , now we will be able to get our gift!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

